resolution 2017 

Processed with VSCO with a9 preset

it’s july already and i take pride to publish this little story of mine that changed my perspective on life.
when the new year was approaching, i had this crazy idea on my mind. resolution. like everyone else. like i always do every new year and failed. i didn’t know what kind of resolution i need .

then i received a popup notification on facebook from chantelle ( the photo a day queen ) . i am following her eversince i played fmspad , my photo-taking skill ( say it’s still amateurish but )  has leveled up because of her. and again, she’s part of another journey i am taking anew.

she shared her private group on facebook recommending her followers to join . she makes achievable weekly  challenges and the first on the list for january was the step count challenge.  learning more how it  works, i decided for 2017 my goal is to start living healthier lifestyle. and no , that’s not even losing weight .

Well, I always know what I want. And when you know what you want–you go toward it. Sometimes you go very fast, and sometimes only an inch a year. Perhaps you feel happier when you go fast. I don’t know. I’ve forgotten the difference long ago, because it really doesn’t matter, so long as you move.

Ayn Rand, We the Living

i am not huge on healthy living. i was lazy . i ate the hell i want. i didn’t care about the environment or nature that much. i could go the whole day laying on the bed with my phone. and this is what i need to improve. to move more, to eat well, to breathe fresh air, to appreciate life and people that matters, to be grateful, to relax and be gentle . to live a healthier life.

and i started from the easiest one, take time to walk outside. and i am truly grateful to chantelle ellem for helping me jumpstart my resolution.

our first step challenge was 5k steps a day for 7 days. for a normal person, that’s just a piece of cake but knowing how lazy i was , i thought it’s going to be challenging. and i was right. the first week was full of body ache and weary nights. i was not even striding long and fast enough yet i was too sore. but you know what?

i didn’t feel like giving up my resolution that easy. i made it to 7 days.

i was inspired, i felt motivated. and it was first for me too to walk around our neighbourhood and discovered new awesome places nearby.

my husband started to walk with me too. he  brought me to places i’ve never been ( by walk ). it became our bonding time also while kids were at school. we walked around downtown, in the woods , along the sea, and even climbed a little mountain or just hopped from one street to another.

i can atleast do 10k steps everyday presently. i started running too and if i’m not out and about, i do 30 mins of core training and an hour of  cardio dance workout.

though i haven’t give up bad food completely, i make it a point not to overeat. i watch my calorie intake and consume more water, vegetables and fruits a day.

i’ve been practicing too to take a deep breath before i vehemently react to a situation.

but you know what, i discovered when you have healthy lifestyle you are likely to think and act in a positive manner. you are relaxed and composed , content and emotionally stable . you gain self respect and (newfound) confidence.

my life now is not suddenly flawless of course, but i take all the imperfections and the struggles graciously. i am growing, changing, improving, and learning constantly. i am loving this new life, new hope. i am having a good time with my new year’s resolution . i am blessed. i am grateful. i am happy. 😊

One thought on “resolution 2017 

  1. RedheadedBooklover says:

    Hi ! I never normally comment on other people’s posts but I just came across your blog and I have to comment and tell you that I adore it! Your blog is so wonderful, I am so happy I just came across it. I am going to follow you right now so I can keep up to date with all of your posts; I look forward to your next ones! Keep up the great work (:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

